How this church runs

A collaboration of staff and volunteers keep Church of the Ascension running.


The Rector has day-to-day supervisory responsibility for the church and is our liaison with the bishop of the Anglican Diocese of Huron. For biography, see the Clergy page.

Church Office

Our church office is open some days of the week. Voice mail is available 24/7 for you to leave messages. We also check the e-mail regularly.

Annual Vestry Meeting

Ascension has its Annual Vestry Meeting (similar to an annual general meeting)  following worship services on a Sunday inearly February. Everyone is welcome to attend the meeting, however, only members of Vestry are able to vote on issues. Members of Vestry are required to have attended Ascension regularly for three months, be regular contributors financially and actively, and be at least 16 years of age. Along with discussing and voting on church matters, these meetings include appointments and elections for various positions within the church.

Executive Team (including Wardens and Deputy Wardens)

The Executive Team is composed of the Rector, Wardens, Deputy Wardens, and the Treasurer. One Warden and one Deputy Warden are elected by vestry members  and one each is appointed by the Rector. The treasurer is appointed by the Wardens. Together they are responsible for the Church and all that happens within it. The Executive Team meets monthly in private to handle a number of issues, including financial and legal matters. The Wardens and Deputies make announcements on Sunday mornings.

2018 Wardens and Deputies:

  • People’s Warden: Russ Braley
  • Rector’s Warden: Mary Grant
  • Deputy People’s Warden: Sandra Coulson
  • Deputy Rector’s Warden: To be appointed

2018 Treasurer: Bill McKinstry

Parish Council

Parish Council is composed of the Executive Team, Lay (non-clergy) Delegates to the Diocese of Huron Synod (parliament) and Alternate Lay Delegates elected by Vestry members, as well as other lay people in the church, some elected by the members and others appointed by the Rector during the Annual Vestry Meeting. Parish Council meets monthly from September to June to discuss and vote on issues, hear reports and implement ideas. These meetings are open to anyone.

2018 Parish Council:


  • Audrey Bullerwell
  • Gerry Flynn
  • Janice Newcombe
  • Mike Power

  • John Cuddie
  • Phil Pentecost
  • Ron Wight
  • Marilyn Youell

2018 Lay Delegates to Synod:

  • Linda Braley
  • Christine Brush

2018 Alternative Lay Delegates to Synod:

  1. Donna Thompson
  2. Donna Reid

You may contact the office if you wish to speak to any member of our Clergy, Executive Team, or Parish Council by calling  519-451-7780.